The Historic Fall River Hydro Plant, built in 1909 by F.O. Stanley to provide electricity for his hotel, is open to visitors in the summer.
Few hotels at the time the Stanley was built used electricity, but the high cost of bringing coal to the area inspired Stanley to use water power instead. The plant contains the equipment and machinery used in the plant during most of the 20th Century.
Stanley sold the plant to the Public Service Co. in 1928, and it was bought by the town of Estes Park in 1945.
The Lawn Lake Flood in 1982 severely damaged the plant, and it could no longer be used.
Historic Fall River Hydroplant
1754 Fish Hatchery Road
Estes Park CO