The Loveland Museum & Gallery focuses on the town’s history, including a huge map of the water project that brought irrigation water from the Big Thompson River.
Another display focuses on the Great Western Sugar mill that processed sugar beets grown in the area.
Harold Marion Dunning, its founder, began collecting artifacts for the museum in 1919. The museum’s first home in 1938 was near its present location of Fifth and Lincoln, in a converted garage on property owned by Otto and Cora Timpke.
The Timpkes left their land to the city and the permanent museum opened there in 1956, with an art gallery added in 1970 and a major expansion completed in 1992.
Loveland Museum & Gallery
503 N. Lincoln Ave.
Loveland, CO 80537