The Ouray County Historical Museum is located in the former St. Joseph’s Miner’s Hospital, a three-floor Italinate building made of native stone that opened in 1887. The Catholic Church donated the land, local residents contributed building funds, and the Sisters of Mercy operated the hospital.
The Ouray Historical Society started a museum in the 27-room building in 1971 with displays on the town’s mining, ranching, and railroading past. The museum has artifacts dating back to Ouray’s earliest days, minerals from nearby mines, thousands of photographs, and the W. Ross Moore Mining History Library of the American West.
The museum also has a good walking tour of historic Ouray.
Ouray County Historical Museum
420 Sixth Ave.
Ouray, CO 81427