Wright Opera House

Wright Opera House in Ouray
November 2, 2011

Staff writer The Wright Opera House was built in 1888 by brothers Ed and George Wright and their wives, Letitia and Lenora. The brothers had made their fortunes with the Wheel of Fortune Mine near Ouray, which they began in 1875 and sold in 1877. The brothers built the Wright Opera House on Main Street to provide cultural programs for the mining boomtown. The building is in Greek and Romanesque…

Read More >>