Ouray Hot Springs Pool

Ouray Hot Springs Pool
November 2, 2011

The historic Ouray Hot Springs Pool features hot mineral water from seven natural springs that lack the strong sulfur odor typical of hot springs. It is open year-round.

Read More >>

Wright Opera House

Wright Opera House in Ouray
November 2, 2011

Staff writer The Wright Opera House was built in 1888 by brothers Ed and George Wright and their wives, Letitia and Lenora. The brothers had made their fortunes with the Wheel of Fortune Mine near Ouray, which they began in 1875 and sold in 1877. The brothers built the Wright Opera House on Main Street to provide cultural programs for the mining boomtown. The building is in Greek and Romanesque…

Read More >>

Historic Beaumont Hotel

Beaumont Hotel in Ouray
November 2, 2011

The Beaumont Hotel was built in 1886 for a staggering $75,000 and hosted the rich and famous. But it was closed in 1964 and fell into disrepair before being resurrected and reopened in 2003.

Read More >>

Glenwood Caverns Adventure Park

Iron Mountain Tramway in Glenwood Springs
November 2, 2011

Staff writer Getting to Glenwood Caverns Adventure Park is part of the fun. At the edge of town, visitors hop on the Iron Mountain Tramway, a scenic trip to the top of the mountain where a rustic amusement park waits. Topside, there is the first alpine slide in the state, a huge swing over Glenwood Canyon (1,300 feet below), a 70-foot bungee jump, a zip ride 625 feet down the…

Read More >>

Ouray County Historical Museum

Staff writer The Ouray County Historical Museum is located in the former St. Joseph’s Miner’s Hospital, a three-floor Italinate building made of native stone that opened in 1887. The Catholic Church donated the land, local residents contributed building funds, and the Sisters of Mercy operated the hospital. The Ouray Historical Society started a museum in the 27-room building in 1971 with displays on the town’s mining, ranching, and railroading past….

October 20, 2011
Read More >>